"Lift off!" - The Planetarium Will Open Its Star Gate at the End of March

Between the astronomical beginning of spring and Easter, the city of Halle (Saale) plans to open its new planetarium on Holzplatz.

The specific opening date is scheduled for Thursday, March 30, 2023. The city and the team around director Dirk Schlesier are currently working on the opening program, which will last over several days. “Visitors can explore the building and experience how the gas storing building, the gasometer, has transformed into a knowledge storing planetarium. In a varied program we will present the various possibilities of the planetarium”, announces Dirk Schlesier.

The annual schedule of events, which also includes the programs for astronomical school lessons, is also being prepared.

The construction work on and in the building, which is being built as a replacement for the planetarium on the Peißnitz that was destroyed in the flood of 2013, is progressing rapidly.

The observatory was placed on the roof at the end of last year. The large telescope for the observatory will be installed not before long.

In the next few weeks, further work on the media technology and the installation of the cash register system will take place. The planetarium team will be trained in the complex technical systems. The installation of the art and exhibition objects is imminent.

The heart of the planetarium, financed with around 21 million euros by the federal and state flood funds, is the star hall, which can accommodate up to 110 guests. State-of-the-art technology allows fantastic projections of the starry sky. 360-degree displays and 3D flights are possible, offering unique and diverse perspectives of Earth.

Tickets can be ordered from the end of February/beginning of March after the program has been published.

BUILDING WORK IN PICTURES

The construction of the new Halle Planetarium within the listed brick facade of the old gasometer is one-of-a-kind in Germany. Inside the 16-metre-high roundel that measures 30 metres in diameter, three storeys are gradually ...

Gehe zu BUILDING WORK IN PICTURES

EVENTS

Many plans and ideas for the Halle Planetarium’s programme are already circling in orbit. New ideas are constantly being identified and charted, gradually forming a packed calendar of events that will irresistibly pull visitors in. “Fascinating!” as Spock would say. And there is no better way to describe it. ...

News: Livestream of the planetary encounter on 21.12.2020

Gehe zu EVENTS

A BRIEF LOOK INTO THE FUTURE

The new Halle Planetarium on Saline Island will open its gates in a couple of months. As the largest and most state-of-the-art planetarium in Saxony-Anhalt, this bright, twinkling star is set to rise in the planetarium skies.

Come with us on a short tour into the future!

„Lift off!“ – Das Planetarium öffnet sein Sternentor Ende März

Zwischen dem astronomischen Frühlingsbeginn und dem Osterfest plant die Stadt Halle (Saale) die Eröffnung ihres neuen Planetariums am Holzplatz.

Der konkrete Eröffnungstermin ist für Donnerstag, den 30. März 2023 vorgesehen. Gegenwärtig arbeiten die Stadt und das Team um Planetariumsleiter Dirk Schlesier am Eröffnungsprogramm, das sich über mehrere Tage erstrecken wird. „Die Besucherinnen und Besucher können das Gebäude erkunden und erleben, wie sich der Energiespeicher Gasometer zum Wissensspeicher Planetarium gewandelt hat. In einem abwechslungsreichen Programm werden wir die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten des Planetariums vorstellen“, kündigt Dirk Schlesier an.

Auch der Veranstaltungsplan, der auch die Programme für astronomische Schulstunden umfasst, wird vorbereitet.

Die Bauarbeiten am und im Gebäude, das als Ersatzneubau für das bei der Flut 2013 zerstörte Planetarium auf der Peißnitz errichtet wird, gehen zügig voran.

Die Sternwarte wurde bereits Ende des letzten Jahres auf das Dach gesetzt, das große Teleskop für die Sternwarte wird in wenigen Wochen installiert.

In den nächsten Wochen finden weitere Arbeiten an der Medientechnik und die Einrichtung des Kassensystems statt. Das Planetariums-Team wird in den komplexen technischen Systemen geschult. Die Installation der Kunst- und Ausstellungsobjekte steht bevor.

Herzstück des Planetariums, das für rund 21 Mio. Euro aus dem Flutmittelfond von Bund und Ländern finanziert wird, ist der Sternensaal, der bis zu 110 Personen Platz bietet. Modernste Technik erlaubt fantastische Projektionen des Sternenhimmels; 360-Grad-Darstellungen und 3-D-Flüge sind möglich, die auch einzigartige und vielfältige Perspektiven auf die Erde bieten werden.

Ticketbestellungen sind ab Ende Februar/Anfang März nach Veröffentlichung des Programms möglich. 

Das Baugeschehen in Bildern

Der Bau des neuen Planetariums Halle innerhalb der denkmalgeschützten Ziegelfassade des alten Gasometers ist deutschlandweit einzigartig. 
In dem 16 Meter hohen Rondell mit einem Durchmesser von 30 Metern entstehen nach und nach ...

Gehe zu Das Baugeschehen in Bildern

Veranstaltungen

Schon jetzt umkreisen viele Programm-Ideen und -Pläne das Planetarium Halle in engster Umlaufbahn. Aktuell werden immer wieder neue gesichtet und kartiert. So formt sich nach und nach ein dichter Veranstaltungskalender mit unwiderstehlicher Anziehungskraft für Besucherinnen und Besucher. „Faszinierend!“ wie Spock sagen würde. Und besser kann man es nicht beschreiben. ...

 

Gehe zu Veranstaltungen

Kurzer Blick in die Zukunft

In wenigen Monaten wird das neue Planetarium Halle (Saale) seinen Betrieb aufnehmen. Mit dem größten und modernsten Planetarium Sachsen-Anhalts geht ein bunt funkelnder Stern am Himmel der Planetarien auf.

Kommen Sie mit auf einen kurzen Rundgang in die Zukunft!

Gehe zu